What is Crossroads Valley?

Crossroads Valley is my new Prosperity Challenge I’ve started and this particular Prosp. Challenge has a twist!  I’ve decided that my kind of fun is to play with the classic racial antagonism of elves and orcs.  During my down time I had the thought, “Wouldn’t it be fun to build a Prosperity Challenge that featured two sets of opposed factions that REALLY didn’t like each other?”  What sort of things might happen? How would it work?  So, once I got the new laptop, I set out to poke it with a stick and build it.

There are four distinct races in Crossroads Valley; humans, high elves, red elves and orcs.  Humans are, uh, well-known and will make up a few playable families and, of course, all the townies.  High elves are your typical fair skinned, long eared fancy types.  Red elves have red skin, long ears and are a bit more, uhm, drastic in the way they handle conflicts.  Orcs are those green-skinned types that everyone loves.

I’ve decided not to spend a lot of time making or finding new clothes, content etc.  I want to get in and start playing!  Instead I’ve gone with downloaded skin colors and the idea that the Sim world is something akin to the old Shadowpunk roleplaying game.  In that world, elves, orcs and other fantasy races lived in a modern 21st style century world just like you and me.  This makes it much easier and let’s me get to playing instead of futzing.  (There’s nothing wrong with futzing mind you…)

As far as politics, I decided it goes something like this – Humans are the neutral race and can take any alliance they want.  High Elves may only initially align with other elven races and humans with the caveat that red elves and high elves merely tolerate each other and do not really get along well.  Orcs may only ally, at first, with other orcs and humans.  That is their initial temperament but it can change during game play.  How does it change?  Well, this is based on not so much hard and fast rules or points but along the lines of the Matrix system I’ve mentioned previously in my other gameplay post. Basically, I’m going to see what happens in the game and then make a few dice rolls that will answer any questions I might have.  If wanted, I can make some of the posts more thorough and make sure I give examples of how it all works.  (And, yes, I’ll try to get some hard and fast rules put up sometime in the future.)

And, yes, just to be clear, we might get a few hostile deaths in there.  I want to simulate that well, in a valley full of elves and orcs things might not be very nicey nice.  To that effect, I’ll be making some matrix style arguments if conflict breaks out and we’ll see how it goes…

Each round spent with each family will be two days.  I may want to increase this but I’m happy with this time period for now.  I’m not a huge fan of 1 day = 1 year but I may shoot for something similiar to 1 day = 3 months or something similiar.  To be truthful, I’m not sure yet and may never actually designate this.  Why bother when I’m having fun without it?  On the blog I’ll record it in the title with the typical Round One and Family Name.

The Story – Several years ago, a conflict broke out between the elves and the orcs.  During that conflict, the red elves who normally like to keep themselves, ended up getting caught into the conflict as well.  Those battles are now over due to a shaky peace accord agreed upon by all parties a few years ago.  In order to try and bridge that seperation, a valley was designated as Crossroads Valley and families were allowed to move there, free of charge, with the only stipulation being they would have to share land with other races.  Even after it’s opening, it sat vacant for a long time except for the humans who, of course, are willing to go and move and build pretty much anywhere!

Eventually, a few families signed on and began moving into the Valley.  No one knew what was to come next and whether the experiment would be a success or failure.

Stay tuned for more!

2 responses to “What is Crossroads Valley?

  1. This sounds very cool! I’ve recently become very interested in elves and other creatures (hence Elvin de Muse and his own little war with Gurth Vasan). I don’t know that I could do my whole blog about it, though I’m excited to see yours! I created Vasadori as a shopping district so I could pop in and get my fantasy fix when I need to :). I like the different groups and wonder how they will all interact with one another. Can’t wait to see it up and running!

    • Thanks for commenting, Jennifer! Hope you enjoy it. From what I’ve played so far it’s definitely going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

